Skip to content

Happy New Year from LearningWorks! 

01.6.15

Though the first School Year Program session won’t be until January 31st, we are ringing in the New Year by thinking about what went well at LearningWorks SYP in 2014.

LearningWorks students explore Minneapolis during SYP!

LearningWorks students explore Minneapolis during SYP!

Here are shout-outs to SYP 2014 from Allison H., SYP mentor and 2014 summer faculty member: 

At 8:00am the Saturday before finals, I couldn’t imagine being anywhere besides LearningWorks. The energy boost that our incredible students provide from the moment the first bus arrives is non-stop until the moment the last bus pulls out of sight. As a mentor for the School Year Program (SYP), I am able to participate in the program I love from a whole new perspective. I still see the students smile when they see their friends from other schools; I still see students think, ask questions, and think some more while they study new math skills or practice writing during class; and I still see students call their own lines in four square. I still see so many wonderful things, but now I also see High School students invest their time and energy in the production of an hour long lesson. I love observing the natural interaction between students and teachers, especially when the young teachers utilize kinesthetic learning because, “that’s how I learn best.” Students teaching students is a remarkable motto. This mindset allows for innovation and creativity in the classroom, for students, from the mind of a student. There is never a dull moment during a day in the life at LearningWorks. The energy never falls, the fun never fades, and the learning never stops. And we run after each bus in December as if it were the middle of July!

2014-11-22 12.06.57

No comments yet

Leave a comment